The Worth of a Year

Looking back on where I was at last year, I could have never imagined what the worth of a year could bring. We don’t always realize how much life can change in such a small amount of time. Everything is always changing in so many ways, for better or worse. There are some beautiful, amazing things that happen; and some not so good things that happen along with it… but we have to learn to take the bad with the good.

Today’s date is May 16, 2017. Nothing too special about today. But on May 16, 2016, everything in my life was different. I was in High School, probably working on some school project, theater work or Student Government event. I hadn’t even accepted my offer to University of Waterloo yet. Exams would have been looming on the edge of my mind. I had different friends, different teachers and so many different things to worry about. One year ago, I never would have imagined that my Grandpa and Grandma both would no longer be around in my life. One year ago, I never would have imagined that my house would be under a huge renovation. One year ago, I never would have imagined how much I would change. I wouldn’t have been able to imagine almost anything that occurred in this past year. And looking forward, I have no idea how my life will change by May 16, 2018.

Even though there has been extreme amounts of change, I’ve realized there are a lot of constants in my life. Family will always be constant. The size of my family may never be constant – people are born in, married in or people pass away. But the support system that my family offers will always stand strong. Friends can also be a constant in my life. Not all friends stay by your side forever, but I’m lucky enough to have a few friends I know will never leave me. Another constant in my life is God. Our God is unchanging in his purposes for the world and for my life, and it’s a comfort knowing that even when everything else is chaotic, He is always there.

“Life is about change. Sometimes it’s painful. Sometimes it’s beautiful. But most of the time, it’s both” ~ Lana Lang

If I’ve learned anything this past year, it’s to let go and not get caught up in change. Everything that changes in life has an effect on you and it shapes you to be the person you are today. And that is okay. Change is okay. We can’t let mistakes and things we can’t control, control our lives. And even if everything seems to be falling apart, there is a bigger purpose. Everything will fit into place and come together.

Leave a Reply

